Superbike World Championship

What is the WSBK?

WSBK stands for World Superbike and in a motorsport road racing series for motorcycles that are modified either by installing after-market high performance air filters or by increasing their performance through other means, making them superbikes. 

Thus the WSBK is a superbike racing series held on permanent racing tracks. It consists of of 3 rounds of racing, the results of which are combined to determine two World Champions, one for the riders and one for the motorcycle manufacturers.

Find out more at

motorcycles racing turning
motorcyces racing in track

The motorcycles of the WSBK

Superbike racing motorcycles are made from standard production models, though heavily modified.

In the past, however, manufacturers have taken advantage of loopholes in the rules to create low production number motorcycles especially for racing in the WSBK.

The Current WSBK manufacturers are:

  • BMW Motorrad: S1000RR
  • Yamaha: YZF750, YZF-R7, YZF-R1
  • Ducati: 851, 888, 916, 996, 998, 999, 1098, 1198, 1199 Panigale R, V4R Panigale
  • Honda: RC30, RC45, RC51, CBR1000RR
  • Kawasaki: GPX750R, ZXR750, ZX-7RR, ZX-10R